People.

NSPA elects Leavenworth

The National Soybean Processors Association (NSPA) has elected Donald Leavenworth as chairman. The NSPA is a trade association of 17 regular member firms and 18 associate member firms involved in the processing of soybeans and production of soybean products.

Leavenworth is group vice-president for Cargill. Reelected as NSPA vice-chairman was Edward J. Cordes of the commodities and soybean division for Ralston-Purina. NSPA secretary-treasurer will be Thomas L. Shade, president of Quincy Soybean Company.

News briefs

AOCS member Robert E. Bellstrom has been named product group manager, Fatty and Dibasic Acids Group, at Emery Industries...Debra J. Daane has joined the National Renderers Association as communications and publications coordinator... Cargill has appointed Robert W. Drake and John D. March as assistant vice-presidents in the company's domestic soybean processing division. Drake has been named southern regional manager and March is the new southeastern regional manager...Robert B. Evans has been appointed an applications engineer and product specialist for Macbeth Color Communications, a division of Kollmorgen Ltd. at the company's offices in Sale. Cheshire. England...Richard Schoenfeld has been named manager of business development for the Fine Chemicals Group, Patco Products Division, C.J. Patterson Co...Hercules Inc. appointed David S. Hollingsworth as divisional vice-president of marketing to replace Robert J. Leahy, now vice-chairman of the board...Guy Posschelle of De Smet USA Corp. has been named president of Expertise Inc. which has been granted exclusive rights to represent De Smet in Canada, Caribbean and Latin America...Mohamed A. Abdel Gelil has retired from the Egyptian Starch, Yeast & Detergent Co. in Alexandria, Egypt, after 30 years to become a consultant to the detergents, oils, fats and soaps industry. ...Kenneth F. Carlson has rejoined Alfa-Laval as regional manager for fats and oils operations in Latin America.

Obituaries

Charles A. Smith

AOCS has been informed of the death of a former member, Charles A. Smith, of Memphis, TN. Mr. Smith initially joined AOCS in 1929 and remained a member for more than three decades. He worked for many years for Perkins Oil Co. and also was a consultant to vegetable oil mills. He was a graduate of Texas A&M University.

Vernor K. Collins

AOCS has been informed of the death of Vernon K. Collins, an AOCS member since 1946 and an emeritus member since 1981. Dr. Collins was a graduate of Acadia and

McGill universities. He had retired as chief chemist at VioBin Corporation in Monticello, Illinois.

Raul J. Blaisten

AOCS has been informed of the death of Raul J. Blaisten, technical director of Laboratorios Bioquimex S.A. of Mexico City. Dr. Blaisten had been a member of AOCS since 1976. He received his doctorate in biochemistry during 1938 from the Universidad Nacional in Buenos Aires, Argentina. After three decades as a university professor in industrial microbiology, he joined Laboratorios Bioquimex in 1968.

M.G. DeNavarre

Maison G. DeNavarre, a founder of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists and an emeritus member of the AOCS, died Sept. 19, 1983. He was 73. Mr. DeNavarre was a graduate of what is now Wayne State University in Detroit. He had worked for several firms during his career, as well as owning his own concern and, in later years, serving as a consultant. He was active in several professional societies. In recent years he had made his home in Florida.

